Kangaroo conservation and management

DEWNR is responsible for the conservation and management of three abundant kangaroo species in South Australia:

  • red kangaroo (Macropus rufus)
  • western grey kangaroo (Macropus fuliginosus melanops)
  • euro (Macropus robustus).

These species are widespread in South Australia and protected under the National Parks and Wildlife Act 1972.

European settlement has been to the advantage of larger-bodied kangaroos; they have increased access to water and grazing land and are less preyed on by dingoes. Their numbers have increased, which can cause detrimental environmental, economic and social impacts.

Conservation and management of these species is detailed in the Kangaroo Management Plan for South Australia 2013-2017. The Management Plan contains management objectives and guidelines for the commercial harvest of kangaroos.

This plan has been developed by DEWNR in consultation with the Kangaroo Management Reference Group

More information: