Open navigation
Topics > Heritage

SA Heritage Council

The South Australian Heritage Council is an independent body whose main functions are to:

  • provide strategic advice to the Minister for Environment and Water.
  • administer the Heritage Places Act 1993
  • provide strategic advice to the Minister for Planning on heritage-related matters in the administration of the Development Act 1993
  • administer the South Australian Heritage Register.

    Members appointed to the South Australian Heritage Council are:

    Keith Conlon, Chairperson
    Robyn Taylor
    Kate McDougall
    Jan Ferguson
    Alison Mackinnon
    Jason Schulz
    David Stevenson
    Marcus Rolfe
    Michael Constantine

    Ali Ben Kahn (Acting Member)
    Deborah Lindsay (Acting Member)
    Wendy Cornell (Acting Member)

    View more information about the council members.

    View the South Australian Heritage Council's annual reports.

    In addition to its annual report to Parliament, the Council has prepared its own Year in Review to inform the South Australian public about its work. You can read about 2018-19 here.

    If you would like to make a complaint to the South Australian Heritage Council, please complete the complaints form and return to us.


    Advice from the Heritage Council regarding the South Australian Visitor Economy Sector Plan 2030.

    Contact us

    General enquiries: (08) 8226 2127

    Development enquiries: (08) 8124 4922    

    Heritage Register enquiries: (08) 8124 4960 


    Postal address: GPO Box 1047, Adelaide SA 5001

    For media enquiries please phone our media advisor on (08) 8463 7412.

    Click here to view form.