Topics > Climate Change > Premier’s Climate Change Council

2022 SA Climate Leaders Award winners

Celebrating leaders in climate action – winners announced

The SA Climate Leaders Awards are an initiative of the Premier’s Climate Change Council to recognise the achievements of individuals and organisations who take action to address climate change in South Australia.

Entries for the 2022 awards were received from many different industries and sectors, including local councils, the business and industry, community organisations, universities and more.

Ms Bobbie Lewis Baida was awarded the $10,000 prize as the overall winner, and winner of the new Research and Education category, for her research into the effects of climate change on sheep production. Bobbie is looking into potential ways to improve climate resilience and increase adaptation in sheep flocks.

Other winners included:

  • CH4 Australia for working towards a solution to reduce methane emissions (Winner Business & Industry Category)
  • Deidre Knight for building awareness of climate change through biodiversity projects in urban communities (Winner Community Category)
  • SA Water for its ‘Zero Cost Energy Future’ initiative (Winner Government Category).

Read the case studies for the 2022 winners and finalists. I Watch the highlights video

Premier’s Climate Change Council’s 2022 SA Climate Leaders Awards Ceremony

To hear the stories from the 2022 awards:

2022 Premier's Climate Change Council SA Climate Leaders Awards - YouTube

To learn about future opportunities:

sign up for updates or contact us at

Category winners

Business and Industry category

Winner: CH4 Australia: Feed supplements to reduce methane production from livestock using locally grown Asparagopsis seaweed


  • Hallett Group - Green Cement Framework
  • Planet Ark Power - Enabling the transition to a clean energy world

Community category

Winner: Deidre Knight: Education for Sustainability / Climate Action Advocacy


  • Maccy Biochar - Making and using carbon-negative biochar on the farm

Government category

Winner: SA Water: Zero Cost Energy Future


  • Aron Hausler (Department for Industry, Innovation and Science) - CivTech Alliance Global Scale-Up Program
  • Murraylands and Riverland Landscape Board - Living Landscapes: returning functionality to the South Olary Plains

Research and Education category

Winner: Bobbie Lewis Baida: Investigating the impact of climate change on Australian sheep production


  • Extreme Heat and Health Adaptation Team, University of Adelaide - Minimising the health impacts of extreme heat in South Australia: Focusing on at-risk populations
  • Flinders University - Climate and climatic variation impact on lymphoedema

Honourable mention award

A special honourable mention award was presented to:

  • Dominic McAfee for research into optimizing reef restorations
  • Monkeystack for their ‘Thin Ice’ virtual reality experience

Read more about our related priorities