Open navigation

With habitats reducing in size due to urbanisation, native animals are often forced to live in close proximity to humans. While this presents a great opportunity to observe wildlife going about their business in our own backyards, living with wildlife presents its share of problems too.

There are five possum species in South Australia:

  • common brushtail possum
  • common ringtail possum
  • western pygmy possum
  • little pygmy possum
  • eastern pygmy possum.

The species we most commonly encounter in our natural and urban environments are the common brushtail, and ringtail possum.

Learn more about:

If you have a possum causing a problem you have a legal responsibility to deal with it in a humane manner. In South Australia, all possums are protected under the National Parks and Wildlife Act, 1972.

Click here to view form.