Addressing the challenge of climate change and seizing opportunities to develop cleaner technology requires a shared effort across the government, industry and the community.

Climate change sector agreements are formal cooperative agreements between the SA Government and specific business entities, industries, community groups and regions to help tackle climate change.

The creation of voluntary climate change sector agreements is encouraged under Section 16 of South Australia's climate change legislation.

An agreement typically encourages actions to reduce greenhouse emissions and adapt to climate change and may include commitments such as:

  • improving energy efficiency
  • reducing energy consumption
  • promoting the use of renewable energy
  • research, development and innovation in technologies or practices
  • member awareness raising and behaviour change programs
  • identifying opportunities to adapt to climate change.

Agreements may relate to part or all of a business or entity's operations but may also be specific to an individual project or program.

Who can partner in climate change sector agreements?

Climate change sector agreement partners may include:

  • businesses and industry groupings
  • ·non-government or not-for-profit organisations
  • state and local government
  • representatives of regional areas
  • the environment and conservation sector
  • the scientific and education community
  • individuals and special interest groups of the general community.

The definition of sector is not limiting, so the state government may enter into agreements with a particular person, entity or business group.

Current climate change sector agreements

Read more about our related priorities