Open navigation
About us > Boards & committees

Native Vegetation Council

The Native Vegetation Council (NVC) is an independent body established by the Native Vegetation Act 1991. The NVC monitors the overall condition of the state’s vegetation and makes decisions on a wide range of matters concerning native vegetation in South Australia.

Its responsibilities include:

Find out more about the role of the NVC by viewing a video of the former configuration of the Council in this inaugural recording (2015).

The seven NVC members are appointed by the Minister for Environment and Water of South Australia. They come from a range of backgrounds and have knowledge and experience in the preservation and management of native vegetation.

Current NVC members are:

Role Member Deputy

Presiding Member

Emily Jenke


Conservation Council nominee

Maurice Roche

Mary-Anne Healy

NRM nominee

Penelope Paton

Roger Wickes

Primary Producers SA nominee

Natalie Sommerville

Roger Farley

Local Government Assoc. nominee

John Neal

Penelope Morgan

Minister's nominee


Kerri Muller

Minister's Planning, Development or Mining nominee


Ana Glavinic

Brief biographies on members can be found here NVC Members and Deputies Information Sheet.

NVC Delegations

The NVC is able to delegate powers and functions to another person or body. Current delegates include the following:

  • Presiding Member, NVC
  • Chair, Native Vegetation Assessment Panel
  • Manager, Native Vegetation Branch
  • Coordinator - Assessment and Stakeholder Liaison, Native Vegetation Branch
  • Coordinator - Governance and Policy, Native Vegetation Branch
  • Senior Compliance Officer, Parks and Regions
  • Executive Director, Energy Resources, Department of Premier and Cabinet
  • Director, Mining Regulation, Department of Premier and Cabinet

NVC Minutes

Meeting Date  Meeting Agenda  Meeting Minutes 
Meeting 220 - October 2018 Agenda  Minutes
Meeting 221 - December 2018 Agenda  Minutes
Meeting 222 - March 2019  Agenda  Minutes
Meeting 223 - May 2019  Agenda  Minutes
Meeting 224 - July 2019  Agenda  Minutes
Meeting 225 - September 2019  Agenda  Minutes
Meeting 226 - November 2019     


Native Vegetation Council
GPO Box 1047
Adelaide 5001 SA
Phone: (08) 8303 9777

Click here to view form.