Native Vegetation Council

The Native Vegetation Council (NVC) is an independent body established by the Native Vegetation Act 1991. The NVC monitors the overall condition of the state’s vegetation and makes decisions on a wide range of matters concerning native vegetation in South Australia.

Its responsibilities include:

The seven NVC members are appointed by the Governor of South Australia. They come from a range of backgrounds and have knowledge and experience in the preservation and management of native vegetation.

Current NVC members are:

Role Member Deputy

Presiding Member



Conservation Council nominee

Maurice Roche


NRM Council nominee

Penelope Paton

Roger Wickes

Primary Producers SA nominee

Emie Borthwick

Roger Farley

Local Government Assoc. nominee

Kym McHugh

Helen MacDonald

Minister's Native Vegetation nominee

Bruce Munday

Joseph Keynes

Minister's Planning, Development or Mining nominee



Native Vegetation Council
GPO Box 1047
Adelaide 5001 SA
Phone: (08) 8303 9777