Open navigation

The open season applies for specific species of duck throughout the state from 15 minutes before sunrise on Saturday 17 February 2018 until 30 minutes after sunset on Sunday 24 June 2018

Apply online for a 2018 Open Season Duck Hunting Permit

No shooting of any duck species is allowed between the period from 30 minutes after sunset on any given day of the open season and 15 minutes before sunrise of the next day. This means that hunters must only shoot duck from 15 minutes before sunrise and must stop shooting at 30 minutes after sunset.

Restrictions have been placed on open season hunting in game reserves, so please refer to specific opening times for game reserves. More information can be obtained from the local natural resources centre.

Open season

Open season across the state is for the following duck species:

  • Grey Teal (Anas gibberifrons),
  • Chestnut Teal (Anas castanea),
  • Pacific Black Duck (Anas superciliosa),
  • Mountain Duck (Tadorna tadornoides),
  • Wood Duck (Chenonetta jubata) and
  • Pink-eared Duck (Malacorhynchus membranaceus).
  • Hardhead (Aythya australis)

A total bag limit of 12 ducks per hunter per day applies.

Closed season

Hunters should note that the Australasian (Blue-winged) Shoveler (Anas rhynchotis) is not to be hunted in the 2018 duck open season.

The Blue-winged Shoveler has not been included because waterfowl surveys undertaken across South Australia indicate that the population trends for this species does not enable sustainable hunting in 2018. 

Where can I hunt?


Apply online for a 2018 duck hunting permit.

More Information

Click here to view form.