Open navigation

The Climate Group States and Regions Alliance

South Australia is the longest standing co-chair and a founding member of The Climate Group’s States and Regions Alliance.  South Australian Premier Jay Weatherill has been a Co-Chair of the Alliance since 2012.

The Alliance brings together sub-national government leaders from around the world in a network to influence international dialogue on climate change, to share expertise, and to show the impact of sub-national government actions to address climate change.

The Compact of States and Regions

The SA Government is a signatory to the Compact of States and Regions, the first ever single, global account of greenhouse gas reduction targets made by state and regional governments.

The Compact is supported by the United Nations and is a partnership between The Climate Group, R20, nrg4SD and CDP. It was announced at the UN Climate Summit in New York in 2014.

In April 2015, South Australia became the first Australian state where a state government and the capital city council have both signed key international agreements on climate change, with the signing of the Compact of States and Regions and the Compact of Mayors. These Compacts commit the South Australian Government and Adelaide City Council to report on targets and emissions reduction progress annually, at an international level.

Reports under the Compact are submitted through the Non-State Actor Zone for Climate Action (NAZCA) portal. The portal was launched in December 2014 in Lima, Peru, during the 20th Conference of the Parties under the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC). The portal, hosted by the UNFCCC, showcases commitments to action by companies, cities, sub-national regions and investors to address climate change.

In May 2015, the SA Government submitted its first report under the Compact of States and Regions. This can be viewed on the NAZCA portal.

Click here to view form.