Duck hunting 2017 open season

The open season applies for specific species of duck throughout the state from 15 minutes before sunrise on Saturday 18 February 2017 until 30 minutes after sunset on Sunday 25 June 2017

No shooting of any duck species is allowed between the period from 30 minutes after sunset on any given day of the open season and 15 minutes before sunrise of the next day. This means that hunters must only shoot duck from 15 before sunrise and must stop shooting at 30 minutes after sunset.

Restrictions have been placed on open season hunting in game reserves, so please refer to specific opening times for game reserves. More information can be obtained from the local natural resources centre.

Open season

Open season across the state is for the following duck species:

  • Grey Teal (Anas gibberifrons),
  • Chestnut Teal (Anas castanea),
  • Pacific Black Duck (Anas superciliosa),
  • Mountain Duck (Tadorna tadornoides),
  • Wood Duck (Chenonetta jubata) and
  • Pink-eared Duck (Malacorhynchus membranaceus).

A total bag limit of 10 ducks per hunter per day applies.

Closed season

Hunters should note that the Australasian (Blue-winged) Shoveler (Anas rhynchotis) and Hardhead (Aythya australis) is not able to be hunted in the 2017 duck open season.

Blue-winged Shoveler and Hardhead have not been included because waterfowl surveys undertaken across South Australia indicate that the population trends for these species do not enable sustainable hunting in 2017. 

Where can I hunt?


Apply for a duck hunting permit for the 2017 open season.