Cultural heritage

Our heritage is made up of aspects of the past and present that we want to share with future generations. This can include:

  • wilderness, coastlines, native vegetation and threatened species
  • historical buildings and monuments
  • shipwrecks, lighthouses and whaling stations
  • art, artefacts, fossils and agricultural and industrial heritage
  • our customs, language and beliefs.

The different types of heritage are managed by various government agencies, local councils, peak bodies and legislation.

DEWNR and the South Australian Heritage Council are responsible for protecting and conserving non-Aboriginal cultural heritage of state significance, with a focus on built and maritime heritage under the following legislation: Heritage Places Act 1993Historic Shipwrecks Act 1981 (state); Historic Shipwrecks Act 1976 (Commonwealth).

Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation Division of the Department of Premier and Cabinet manages Aboriginal heritage under the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988.

The significance of the heritage and where it is helps determine the type of protection needed, for example world heritage listings protect and conserve heritage of global importance. Then there are national, state and local listings.

In South Australia the various heritage listings include:

More about: