Our heritage is made up of aspects of the past and present that we want to share with future generations. This can include:

  • Archaeological sites and artefacts
  • caves, mines, volcanic features, geological sites and fossils
  • historical buildings and monuments
  • relics of agricultural and industrial heritage
  • shipwreckslighthouses and whaling stations
  • wilderness, coastlines and threatened species

The different types of heritage are managed by various government agencies, local councils, peak bodies and legislation.

DEWNR and the South Australian Heritage Council are responsible for protecting and conserving built, maritime and intangible heritage, non-Aboriginal cultural heritage of significance to South Australia, under the following legislation: Heritage Places Act 1993Historic Shipwrecks Act 1981 (State); Historic Shipwrecks Act 1976 (Commonwealth).

Aboriginal Affairs and Reconciliation Division of the Department of State Development manages Aboriginal heritage under the Aboriginal Heritage Act 1988.

The South Australian Native Vegetation Council and the Native Vegetation Management Unit in DEWNR manage Native Vegetation Heritage Agreements under the Native Vegetation Act 1991. For information on Heritage Agreements to conserve native vegetation on properties, please contact the Native Vegetation Management Unit on (08) 8303 9777 or email: nvc@sa.gov.au

The State Heritage Unit within DEWNR:

  • Administers the Heritage Places Act 1993, the Commonwealth Historic Shipwrecks Act 1976 and the State Historic Shipwreck Act 1981
  • Provides strategic and policy advice to Government and the South Australian Heritage Council on non-Aboriginal cultural heritage and the systems and processes established to identify, promote and manage our cultural heritage.
  • Provides policy advice to the Minister for Sustainability, Environment and Conservation on priorities, current and emerging issues.
  • Advises on heritage conservation planning matters such as the Environment Protection and Biodiversity Conservation Act 1999 listings and referrals.
  • Provides policy advice to and supports the South Australian Heritage Council in administering the South Australian Heritage Register and supports the Council in promoting Heritage within SA.
  • Provides advice on conservation of State heritage through technical expertise and management of the South Australian Heritage Fund.

The significance of the heritage and where it is located helps determine the type of protection needed, for example World heritage listings protect and conserve heritage of global importance. Then there are National, State and local listings.

In South Australia the various heritage listings include:

For further information, please contact the State Heritage Unit, DEWNR via email DEWNRHeritage.sa.gov.au or via telephone (08) 8124 4960.

More about:

Contact us

South Australian Heritage Council: Phone (08) 8226 2127
State Heritage Unit: Phone (08) 8124 4960
Email: DEWNRheritage@sa.gov.au
Postal address: GPO Box 1047, Adelaide SA 5001
Development enquiries: Phone (08) 8124 4922
Media enquiries: Phone (08) 8463 7437 or 0438 456 624