Crown lands

DEWNR administers Crown land in South Australia under the Crown Land Management Act 2009. DEWNR manages Crown land for the benefit of South Australians and seeks to achieve a balance between the social, economic and environmental needs of the community.

DEWNR’s work includes the efficient handling of transactions and transparent decision making in the allocation of unalienated Crown land.

There are four main types of tenures available over Crown land:

If you are interested in a parcel of land, the first thing you need to consider is its ownership. You can obtain this information for a fee from SAILIS.

DEWNR provides information and advice about Crown land to:

Information is also available about Crown land and waterfront land.

This diverse work is conducted from regional offices in Adelaide, Berri, Mt Gambier, Kadina and Port Augusta. Contact your local DEWNR regional office for information about Crown land in your area.

More information