South Para Collaborative Fire Management Plan

South Para Collaborative Fire Management Plan

The draft fire management plan covers over 20 thousand hectares of conservation land, plantation forest and drinking water catchment managed by Department of Environment, Water and Natural Resources (DEWNR), ForestrySA and SA Water, in the Mount Lofty Ranges, as well as privately managed Heritage Agreements. This includes:

  • Barossa, South Para, Little Para, Millbrook, Kangaroo Creek and Warren Reservoir Reserves
  • Cromer, Cudlee Creek, Hale, Kaiserstuhl, Kenneth Stirling (Burdetts Block), Montacute, Sandy Creek and Warren Conservation Parks and Para Wirra Recreation Park
  • Mount Crawford Forest Reserve
  • Heritage Agreements adjoining public land.
  • The planning area covers the largest linked area of remnant native vegetation in the Mount Lofty Ranges.

This plan has been developed through collaboration between SA Water, ForestrySA, DEWNR and the SA Country Fire Service, to guide bushfire risk management across the landscape.

The final plan was approved and scheduled for release in early 2015, however due to the scale and impact of the Sampson Flat bushfire, a review of the plan will now be undertaken.

The review, which will focus on public lands affected by the bushfire, and incorporate lesson learnt from the 2014 Bangor bushfire as well as the 2015 Sampson Flat bushfire, will play a crucial role in informing how the plan will be amended. Specifically, the review will examine:

  • the effectiveness of current fire management zoning practices and bushfire mitigation works by:
    • Identifying which current practice were effective/ineffective during the suppression of the bushfire
    • Identifying which current practices measurably altered and/or reduced the intensity and behaviour of the bushfire
  • the impacts to life, property, built assets, native vegetation and threatened species.

The above analysis will be used to critically assess key components of the current plan including the life, property, and environmental risk assessments and associated recommended mitigation works.

For further information about the review you can contact Aidan Galpin on 8124 4834 or email

More information:

Stay informedContact usMedia CentreFire news