Our Board



The Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium consists of eight members appointed by the Minister for Sustainability, Environment and Conservation.

The Director of the Botanic Gardens of South Australia attends all meetings which are held on a six weekly basis.

Judy Potter


Ms Judy Potter was appointed to the Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium on 21 January 2010 and became Chairperson in July of that year.

Ms Potter has served on numerous boards in the community, Government and tertiary sector, including past Chair of the following Boards: Adelaide Fringe, Adelaide Central Market Authority and the Adelaide Central School of Art. She currently chairs the South Australian Film Corporation and is a Director of Musica Viva Australia and the Duke of Edinburgh Awards. 

Ms Potter consults to HYLC Joint Venture (Hansen Yuncken and Leighton Contractors).

Rob DiMonte

Mr DiMonte joined the Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium on 10 July 2012. He is also Chair of the Board Finance and Risk Management Committee.

Rob is the former Managing Partner for Deloitte in South Australia (2001 – 2014) and a Partner since 1994. Rob is a Chartered Accountant and a design thinker. He is able to design innovative solutions to “wicked problems” and he uses these skills in the areas of business strategy, operations improvement, organisation design and social change. As a management consultant he has assisted clients in the public, private and not-for-profit sectors and has brought these skills to the Boardroom table.

Rob is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, Member of the Institute of Company Directors and has held many board and board advisory roles over the past thirty years. He is currently a director of Medvet; The Australian Centre for Social Innovation; Advisory Board of Carnegie Mellon University Australia; The Chartered Accountants Benevolent Foundation Limited; and Board Advisor to GP partners Australia.

Rob has also held the following positions; Management Board of the National Primary Care Collaboratives; 2007 National President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants; Deputy Chairman of SA Great; Deputy Chairman of the Deloitte Foundation; CEDA Trustee; AMCHAM Governor; Board Advisor Michell Group and Chairman of VIVASA.

Christine Elstob

After graduating in law from the University of Adelaide and being admitted to the Bar as a legal practitioner in South Australia, Christine spent most of her professional life working in the field of human rights, first in Melbourne, followed by two decades in the International Labour Office in Geneva, Switzerland and several years in Washington DC.

Since returning to Adelaide, she has undertaken various assignments in her field and also currently serves as a member of the Board of Trustees of the History Trust of South Australia (History SA). Christine was a member of the Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium from 2004-2008 and was delighted to rejoin the Board of some of her favourite Adelaide haunts in July 2011.

Lily Jacobs

Lily Jacobs is the CEO of Renew Adelaide, a not-for-profit organisation that fosters creative enterprise in vacant property. She has led since September 2012 when she was its first full time staff member and has overseen significant growth in the organisation, taking it from 3 to 40 projects annually.

She is a former lawyer who finished dux of her degree and worked in commercial, property and intellectual property law at the Federal Court and then at Lipman Karas and Camatta Lempens Solicitors. She also taught property law and urban theory at the University of Adelaide. Lily had previously studied architecture, and has also worked in arts events and administration.

Lily is the youngest member of the Economic Development Board of South Australia and also serves on the board of Brand SA. Lily joined the Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium in July 2015. 

David Knox

Mr David Knox was appointed Chief Executive Officer of Santos in July 2008. He has 25 years of experience in the global oil and gas industry, including as Managing Director for BP Developments in Australasia from 2003 to 2007.

Originally from Edinburgh, Scotland, David holds a first class honours degree in Mechanical Engineering from Edinburgh University and a Masters of Business Administration from the University of Strathclyde. David joined the Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium in December 2009 and is Chair of the Board's Strategic Positioning Committee.

Anne Levy

Anne Levy was the first woman to preside in any house of any Parliament in Australia. She was elected to the South Australian Legislative Council in 1975 where she remained until 1997. In 1986 she became the President of the Legislative Council - the first woman to be a Presiding Officer of a House of Parliament in Australia.

She held various ministerial positions between 1989-1993, including Minister for the Arts, Minister of Local Government, Minister of State Supply, Minister of Consumer Affairs, and first ever Minister for the Status of Women. She retired in 1997. Anne was appointed to the Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium in July 2007.

Richard Nunn

Richard Nunn is currently Chief Executive Officer of Statewide Super and brings valuable commercial knowledge and strategic experience to the Board. Richard holds more than 25 years’ experience in financial services.

Moreover, Mr Nunn holds a lifelong interest in natural history and botany, with a particular focus on carnivorous plants, triggerplants and orchids. He has published articles in journals, co-authored a book and serves as Vice-President of the International Carnivorous Plant Society.

Richard holds a Bachelor of Business, a Graduate Diploma in Economics, the Australian Institute of Company Directors Diploma and is a graduate of Harvard Business School’s Advanced Management Program.

Jamie Restas

Jamie Restas is the National Head of HWL Ebsworth's Corporate and Commercial Group.

Jamie has 20 years' experience in advising major listed and private corporations in connection with all aspects of corporate and commercial activities. Jamie Restas joined HWL Ebsworth Lawyers in 2014 following several years as Chairman of Partners at Kelly & Co. Lawyers.

Jamie's expertise includes mergers and acquisitions (public company takeovers and schemes, private treaty acquisitions and joint venture investments), capital raisings (initial public offerings, rights issues, placements, share purchase plans, employee share plans and underwriting) and private equity/venture capital. In addition, Jamie regularly provides Corporations Act and ASX Listing Rule advice including in relation to related party transactions, corporate governance, directors' duties, share capital reconstructions and continuous disclosure. 

Jamie also serves on the Board of the Port Adelaide Football Club, the Adelaide Film Festival and is the SA Chair of the Law Council of Australia. Jamie joined the Board of the Botanic Gardens and State Herbarium in July 2015.