DEWNR's Compliance Unit is responsible for ensuring community compliance with a range of legislation, in particular

  • animal welfare
  • botanic gardens
  • Crown lands
  • dogs and cats
  • European heritage
  • historic shipwrecks
  • irrigation
  • lakes
  • marine mammals
  • marine parks
  • Murray-Darling Basin
  • national parks and reserves
  • native animals
  • native vegetation
  • natural resource management
  • pastoral lands
  • rivers
  • water and sewerage infrastructure
  • water resources
  • wilderness areas.

Compliance with state legislation by the community at large is the first step in ensuring the ongoing conservation and protection of our state’s unique flora and fauna. Without effective compliance, investigation and enforcement, serious biosecurity risks may be posed to the state’s environmental and economic assets. This can include the introduction of invasive species or diseases and the mistreatment and exploitation of our native animals and ecosystems.

The Compliance Unit works broadly on a range of issues in accordance with the aims and objectives of the Corporate Plan and the South Australian Strategic Plan 2007-2017 (SASP). In particular, the Compliance Unit is focussed on enhancing community involvement and fascination with the natural world, assisting the utilisation of the South Australian environment as a sustainable and unique economic asset, and forming valuable and ongoing partnerships within the wider community that promote sustainable resource use and overall biodiversity conservation.

Find out more: